Sarah Nagaty's Blog

G-osc Members :)

Posted on: October 27, 2009

Last week I was introduced to processing.js which is an open source programming language IDE built for the electronic arts and visual design communities with the purpose of teaching the basics of computer programming in a visual context, and to serve as the foundation for electronic sketchbooks. From the first glance, I thought that processing.js is soo powerful and I really enjoyed watching amazing demos. At first I liked playing around and watching all the demos and it was reaaaaaaaal fun but I then realized that i’m not actually working this way as I have things to be done. The most one i liked was this which i found so colorful.

My team and I chose to work on the visualization of the members in our g-osc community . At first we worked on retrieving the desired data which in our case was the names of all the users. After exploring the media wiki api, we succeeded in getting the xml data file containing all the users. Afterwards, We started working on processing.js. It is similar to the java methods and since we have a good experience with java, It was an easy task when it came to processing. We created a bubble for every member containing his username.

Finally, we’re done with it. And just after finishing it…Guess what??!!?? I have to think of the next thing to be done…THE MINI PROJECT! I’ll have to choose one of the ” thunderbird’s ” proposed list and work on it for the next 3 weeks. WISH ME LUCK!

good luck every1 šŸ™‚

Leave a comment


  • None
  • ramsey nagaty: Hi Best of luck with your studies
  • snagaty: Anytime! uw :)
  • Auto Insurance Guy: Ah!!! at last I found what I was looking for. Somtimes it takes so much effort to find even tiny useful piece of information. Nice post. Thanks

Categories